Beans offer a great range of gluten free cooking possibilities. This article expands on part I of this subject. This article lists more types of beans and their unique characteristics.
Cannellini beans originate from Argentina but have been widely adopted by Italian cuisine. They are creamy-white and are slightly larger and fatter than white haricot beans. They are also a bit more kidney-shaped. They have a fluffy texture and are often added to minestrone, which can be made gluten-free, and other Italian soups. They are also a key ingredient to tunna and bean salad (tonno e fagioli).
Also known as chana in India, or garbanzo beans, this is a versatile bean that is very useful in gluten-free cooking. Simple chana pancakes can be made of chickpea flour (gram), salt, making powder, water and a bit of oil. It is also a key ingredient of hummus, which can be used as a spread or dip.
They are somewhat spherical in shape and have a creamy texture and nutty flavor. They are an important ingredient for Indian vegetarian cooking, which makes a good basis for gluten free vegetarian meals.
If you want a smoother consistency to chickpea-based recipes, you can either remove the skin, which can be somewhat tough, or use a powerful blender such as a Vitamix to process them. If you remove the skin, do so after they have been cooked and cooled. This will remove valuable dietary fiber.
Black beans are small, kidney-shaped shiny beans with a sweetish flavor. They are popular in African and Caribbean cooking and add a splash of colour to your cooking.
Also known as Black-eyed beans or cow peas. They are small beans with a creamy colour and a black spot on the side. They are a staple in Creole and Cajun food and are also used in some Indian cooking. Add them to soups and salads. They are the bean to use for Hoppin’ John, a Southern US dish of rice, tomatoes, onions and black-eyed peas.