The trouble is that the more you look for foods without an ingredient, the more foods you find which you can’t eat!
The first step to eating wheat/gluten-free, is to start looking for foods you can eat. It tends to attract the right things into your life. Of course even as you can for ingredients you can eat, you must also be on the lookout for ingredients you must avoid. But start with what you can eat, it is so much more encouraging!
The fact is that even with a gluten-free diet, there are lots of things you can eat. Here is a partial list. I will expand on it over time.
Basic Wheat-Free, Gluten-Free Ingredients
The following ingredients do not contain wheat, although there are some caveats. Double-check the ingredients noted, as they may sometimes be mixed with wheat. For example, 100% pure corn starch is safe, but some brands of corn starch have wheat added (just to annoy you!).
Some of the ingredients listed here are wheat-free, but contain gluten. They are noted.
- Barley (contains gluten)
- Flax seed
- Nut Flours
- Oats (may contain gluten. Many celiacs consider this safe)
- Rye (contains gluten)
See also: Gluten free foods list for an extensive and growing list of gluten-free foods.