Is Dark Chocolate Really Dairy-Free?

by Guest Writer

Finding Milk Free Chocolate or chocolate free of many of the food allergens can be a challenging. Most dairy free chocolate is not made on dairy free lines for instance. There is however specialty brands that market their products toward the allergic consumer. These products are mostly available on line and in health food stores.

Most dark chocolate is made with some milk, and almost always on the same line as cow’s milk. In 1875 Daniel Peter was the first to make a commercial chocolate with milk. He added powdered milk to the chocolate to add a creamer texture. Now you would almost think chocolate came from cows not coco bean plants. Truly dairy free chocolate can be found.

A few of the dairy free chocolates available in health food stores include; Tropical Source. They make a line of chocolate bars that says in very prominent writing made on equipment not shared with gluten or milk. In the Greater Toronto Area’s health food stores you may find New Moon Kitchen’s cookies and loafs. They are milk egg and nut free, we are fond of their flavors of chocolate cookies and dessert loafs.

On line stores that carry dairy free chocolates include, Amanda’s Own chocolate that is completely dairy-free, tree nut-free, peanut-free, egg-free and gluten-free. Divvies makes treats free of peanuts, nuts, eggs and dairy, with a line of chocolate products. Chocolate Decadence makes gourmet dairy free chocolates that are also gluten free and vegan. Whey-out chocolate is made on equipment not shared by milk and marks other common allergens. Whey-out makes many holiday chocolates beyond the common figures.

From the United Kingdom, UK Organics make dairy free chocolates that are also fair trade, as well as other products.

Some of these companies make only dairy free products; others may have cross contamination risks:

www.wheyoutchocolate.com
www.boojabooja.com
www.amandasown.com
www.smartmonkeyfoods.com
www.dagobachocolate.com
www.rosschocolates.ca
www.newmoonkitchen.com
www.tropicalsourcecandy.com
www.larabar.com
www.divvies.com
www.chocolatedecadence.com
www.choclat.com
www.ukorganics.co.uk

Above is a short list of dairy free chocolates others are available. It is up to you to decide what is safe; often manufactures have their cross contamination procedures on their web sites. The manufactures that create their products for the allergic consumer, are more likely to keep their manufacturing lines allergen free. Manufacturing practices can change, so always read the ingredient list.

Editor’s Note: The advice in this article is primarily for people who are extreamly sensitive to milk or have a milk allergy. Most people with lactose intollerance will be fine with most dark chocolate. Even if you do not consider yourself senstive to milk, this article is well worth reading.
(Visited 24,377 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment

{ 1 comment… read it below or add one }

1 lily jacobs September 15, 2011 at 05:25

Hello, please can you help? is Frey chocolates gluten free? Can’t seem to get a reply from them and i’m a big fan of Frey.

Reply

Previous post:

Next post: