Glutelin | Gluten | Gluten Allergy | Allergy

Glutelin

by Allergy Guy

Glutelin is one of the components of gluten.  There are many types of glutelin. One type found in wheat is responsible for damage to people with celiac disease.

Glutelin is found in many plant seeds, including wheat, barely, rye, rice, amaranth, sorghum, peas, maize, yam, soybeans and many others.  The molecule varies enough in different species that while wheat, barley, oats and rye may trigger celiac disease in some, other types form peas, yams, rice etc. do not.

For those with a gluten allergy, the “gluten-free” definition may not be so clear.  Do not be alarmed by the range of foods which contain some sort of glutelin, but do be aware that you may be allergic to more than the big four, although possibly to different degrees.

There is a wide variety of glutelin types within species, and across species.  Many plants have high molecular weight (HMW) and low molecular weight (LMW) glutelins.   It is the HMW glutelin-type protein glutenin which is specifically associated with celiac disease.

The glutelin in rice is the main store of energy found in the rice endosperm.

Glutelin is not soluble in water or alcohol but is soluble in dilute acids and bases.  This is most apparent with wheat and less obvious with some other grains.

Glutelin is often found in association with prolamine.

(Visited 1,126 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: