Most candy is gluten-free, but this can lead to complacency, exposing you to gluten poisoning yet again.
If you have a gluten allergy, there are actually two problems with candy in the gluten free diet. One is that some candy has gluten in it. This might be the last thing you expect, which is exactly why it can be rather dangerous.
The other problem is that sugar really isn’t good for you. Sure, a little is OK, but if you start to rely on it too much due to your restricted diet, you will magnify your problems.
So the first thing is to promise yourself that you will limit your sugar intake and do everything you can to make yourself healthy. Can you promise that to yourself? After all, does it really make sense to avoid gluten in an effort to improve your health, and then eat sugar and compromise your immune system?
Gluten Free Candy
Still, a little sugar is OK, so lets talk about gluten free candy.
Hard candies are mostly sugar, colouring and flavor. Not that the colouring and flavor is good for you exactly.
Hard candies are generally gluten-free, so you should be OK with them. Always read the ingredients to make sure.
Hard candies with a soft center have been OK in my experience, but they are more risky. There is always a chance that someone will decide to add wheat to the soft filling, and that’s not good for a gluten allergy.
Soft candies carry real risk.
Licorice almost always has wheat in it. That will flatten you if you have a gluten allergy, or celiac disease.
Many soft candies are OK, but some are not, always check ingredients.
Candy bars often have wheat wavers in them, so many are not gluten-free either. Again, check ingredients.
Some types of candy are usually gluten-free, while others often include wheat and therefore gluten.
Don’t rely on sugar to fill the gaps in your gluten-free diet, and always check ingredients to avoid triggering your gluten allergy.