Gluten Free Wine | Gluten Allergy | Gluten Free Diet | Allergy

Gluten Free Wine

by Allergy Guy

Wine can be contaminated with gluten, depending on how the wine is made.  Here is a list of gluten-free wines and wines to avoid.

The reason for contamination is that some winemakers use wheat flour to caulk the wine aging barrels.  Some winemakers  use gluten as a clarifying agent for the wine.  How much, if any, gluten ends up in the wine in either of these cases is unclear, but rather than taking the risk, you will wan to avoid these wines if you get gluten allergy symptoms or have celiac disease.

In the case of using gluten to clarify wine, note that there are alternatives, including egg whites and isinglass (made from fish bladders).  Either of these would render a wine unsuitable for vegans, so I suggest you avoid wine marked as suitable for vegans.

Note that this list is not and never will be complete.  The purpose of this article is two-fold:

  • Inform you that some wines are gluten-contaminated.
  • Provide a list of some wines you can drink and others you must avoid.

If you have a gluten allergy or celiac disease, it is important to know which wines are gluten free and which must be avoided.

* Information about wines marked with an asterisk (*) are based on reader comments and have not been double-checked.

This article contains three lists:

Gluten Free Wine (Certified)

This section has yet to be researched.  If you know of any certified gluten free wine, please leave a comment and it will be added here.

Gluten Free Wine (Probably)

  • Yellowtail *

Gluten Contaminated Wine

  • Woodbridge  *


If any wine has given you gluten allergy symptoms, or if you’ve discovered a wine that you know to be gluten free, please leave a comment with the name of the wine, the vineyard, and contact information for the vineyard if known..

Gluten and Wine Further Reading

Wine-o-scope and The Problem of Gluten in Wine

(Visited 10,697 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment

{ 5 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Rachel Hanberry March 31, 2019 at 19:53

Michael David, Mark West, Chole wines are gluten free.


2 Allergy Guy April 9, 2019 at 15:10

Thank you Rachel


3 Sue Clark November 9, 2017 at 23:55

Mogen David wines are gluten free. Because I have Celiacs Disease, and I had some Mogen David wine, the concord flavor… and had NO reaction.


4 wendy April 24, 2017 at 17:48

Gluten free and vegan wine:
Pinot Noir, Vampire

Gluten containing:


5 Karen August 7, 2015 at 00:14

Gluten free:
Cupcake Wines
Yellow tail

Gluten containing:
franzia, carlo rossi, barefoot, vella


Previous post:

Next post: