Is ice cream gluten-free? Sometimes it is. There are a number of factors to consider, including how sensitive you are, brand and flavor.
Some of the cheapest brands may use wheat flour as a filler. Even with expensive brands, you have to be aware of gluten-based flavors and sweeteners, such as malt syrup.
Even expensive brands do not guarantee a gluten-free experience. Some flavors have gluten, such strawberry shortcake ice cream. Because many flavors are likely made in the same factory, there is a chance of cross-contamination with other flavors with a gluten-free list of ingredients, depending on cleaning procedures and other allergy-friendly measures that may or may not be undertaken by the factory.
If you are not especially sensitive to gluten, for example, a high-tolerance gluten allergy or gluten sensitivity, you may be able to decide which ice cream flavors are save, just by reading the ingredients. However, if you are celiac or otherwise highly sensitive to small quantities of gluten, you must call the manufacturer to find out risk levels for cross-contamination.
Allergy-details is currently conducting research into which ice creams are safe, which have some level of risk, and which should be avoided. Meanwhile, read ingredient lists carefully and contact manufacturers by telephone, email or internet to find out if there are high cross-contamination risks.
Generally speaking, manufacturers will over-state cross-contamination risks in countries where they worry about the liability of causing anaphylaxis or other serious allergy symptoms in their customers, so keep this in mind if you have a lower sensitivity to gluten, although this approach is not suitable for celiacs.
Remember that most ice cream cones are made with gluten. At ice cream parlors, watch that you get your ice cream in a cup/bowl, and that the server doesn’t let bits of cone drop into the ice cream.
What are your questions about or experiences with gluten free diet and ice cream? Please leave a comment.
|PC Strawberry Shortcake Ice Cream|