Celiac | Gluten | Allergy

Celiac vs. Gluten

by Allergy Guy

Do you think of celiac disease and a gluten allergy as the same thing?

They are actually quite different, even considering the wide definition for allergy used on this site.

Celiac disease is triggered by an exposure to gluten, but only if you are genetically programmed to have celiac disease.

An allergy to gluten however, could happen to anyone. If you already have allergies, you have a higher chance of developing more, or having allergies you are suffering from, but have not yet made the connection between allergen and symptoms.

Avoiding symptoms for both conditions is the same – don’t eat gluten. In other words, completely avoid the following (or anything derived from the following):

Note that there is some debate about they type of gluten in oats, and celiac experts seem to agree that oats are safe for celiacs.

The difference in managing celiac disease from a gluten allergy does differ. If you have celiac disease, you must avoid all gluten, even if you do not notice any symptoms. With a gluten allergy however, you can eat some gluten-containing foods if you find you can tolerate them in small quantities.


Internal References

External References

(Visited 36,044 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment

{ 4 comments… read them below or add one }

1 hungbake July 21, 2008 at 09:25

Gluten & Deliac

We make special wheat flour bakery products and we have already 7 customers with Celiac Disease (all of them with long time medical record as Celiac) and they have no problems with gluten. Who is trying our products with Celiac 95% of them starting to eat again the bread full with gluten, but only made by us. We have references upon request and one congratulation from Canadian Scientist.
Les – owner of Hungarian Bakery, Three Hills. Ab


2 admin July 21, 2008 at 22:02

Hard to believe

Your claims sound interesting … but very hard to believe.


3 Alex November 26, 2007 at 21:56


well ill try my question again I dont know wht all i can eat i cant drink beer ,so barley ,does that mean i have ciliac deisease


4 admin November 27, 2007 at 11:06

Celiac = no barley, but barley does not mean Celiac

Hi Alex,

If you are celiac, then you can not eat $barley$, nor $wheat$ nor rye. But if you are $allergic$ to barley, that is not celiac disease.

The only way to know for sure is to get tested for $celiac$ disease.

Since you have to wait so long for your appointment, try cutting out all wheat, barley and rye from your diet, and oats too for good measure.

Also, since beer seems to be a problem, consider yeast as a culprit.

Cut out al yeast from your diet, including bread (which also has wheat in it, so two reasons not to eat bread!). Also cut out wine.


Previous post:

Next post: