If you are allergic to wheat, can you eat it? Probably not.
If you have celiac, can you eat it? NO!
The origin of Kamut is shrouded in mystery. It was developed by a private company. According to Wikipedia, they originally claimed that it was developed from grain found in an ancient Egyptian tomb. Since wheat does not remain viable for longer than 200 years (unless frozen), the story fell apart, and it is now claimed to originate from a contemporary form of Egyptian wheat.
This would make it a kind of wheat.
Personally, I have not risked trying it. If you have a low sensitivity to wheat, and/or your symptoms are not too severe, you may decide it is worth the risk to experiment and see if it agrees with you. You are more than welcome to share your experiences in the comments form below this post.
Kamut does have gluten in it so it is not suitable for celiacs.
So when food is labeled as “wheat-free” or “gluten-free”, always double check!