Gluten Allergy | Allergy

Gluten in your Salad?!

by Allergy Guy

If you are allergic to gluten, you may think that a salad is a safe bet at any restaurant.

This is almost true, but you may well run into problems if you make this assumption and do nothing else.

As always, ask questions!

The first and most obvious question is: “does this salad have gluten, wheat, bread crumbs, or any type of flour in it?”

More specifically, watch out for the following in green and Cesar’s salads:

  • Salad dressings. Many are gluten-free, but some are not. Read the ingredients!
  • Croutons! These are made with bread, which is made of wheat. Gluten-free croutons do exist, but you won’t find them in your average restaurant.
  • Bacon bits, if artificial. What the point if artificial bacon bits is, I don’t know! Anyhow, watch out for them as they may contain gluten.

Salads are OK for a gluten-free diet, as long as you ask the right questions, and make sure certain ingredients, including the ones mentioned above, are omitted from the salad.

Chicken salad may be OK for a gluten allergy, but in addition to the above, you have to watch out for how the chicken was prepared. Sometimes, chickens are coated in spices mixed with wheat. Bad news for your gluten allergy! Also, watch out for chicken that has been coated in bread crumbs.

Seafood salad may also be gluten-free, but watch out for crab. Crab is very rarely crab (you can call food just about anything these days, and then make it out of just about anything else). Crab is frequently fake crab – made of fish and wheat flour. Again, bad news for your gluten allergy!

These are but a few examples and things to watch out for when avoiding gluten and remaining allergy-free.

It all comes back to what I said at the start: ask questions!

(Visited 25,201 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: