Rice Krispies is available in a gluten-free version. The product has been specially reformulated to suite a gluten free diet. This is great news for those with a gluten allergy, celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. Not only does it make Rice Krispies practical for breakfast, but it also makes Rice Krispy Squares available to those on a gluten free diet.
Rice Krispies Reformulated for Gluten Free Diet
The ingredients of the original product is as follows:
- Malt (Corn Flour, Malted Barley)
- Thiamine Hydrochloride
- Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
- D-Calcium Pantothenate
- Folic Acid
The problem with this recipe for those on a gluten free diet, is the malted barley, since barely contains gluten.
- Whole Grain Brown Rice
- vitamin C (ascorbic acid)
- vitamin E (alpha tocopherol acetate)
- vitamin A palmitate
- vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride)
- vitamin B2 (riboflavin)
- vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride)
- Folic Acid
- Vitamin D
- Vitamin B12
The main change is that malt is simply dropped as an ingredient, and brown rice is used instead of white rice. Most likely brown rice is used to keep the colour dark and make the taste a bit stronger to make up for the missing malt.
I have found the gluten-free version of Rice Krispies to be widely available, although stocking depends on the decision of individual supermarkets, so if you don’t see it, ask the manager to stock it.
A good and more substantial alternative to this product is puffed rice, which generally has not gluten added, although you would be advised to get a gluten-free brand to avoid cross-contamination with other products such as puffed wheat which could be made on the same equipment.
Have you tried gluten free Rice Krispies? What do you think of them? Are they easy to find in the store? Leave a comment.