Beer Allergy | Allergy

Beer Allergy

by Allergy Guy

Beer allergy is an allergic reaction to one or more ingredients in the beer.
In most cases, this is likely to be:

Yeast (yeast allergy)
Barley
Wheat
Gluten (gluten allergy)
• Sulphates
• Hop (humulus)
• Other additives

Yeast and sulphates are an intrinsic part of beer. Unlike distilled alcohol, beer, like wine, always contains yeast because it is make by fermenting starches with yeast.
If you have a yeast allergy, then beer is strictly off limits for you.
Yeast produces sulphates, so there will always be some level of sulphates in beer, although some manufacturers may add more sulphates as a preservative.
If you are allergic to sulphates, check each brand of beer to see if they add sulphates. You may find that some brands of beer work for you, were as others have too high a level of sulphates.
Some people may be allergic to hop, a type of plant used to flavor beer.
Most beer is made by fermenting either barley or wheat. If you have a gluten allergy, you will not be able to drink most beer.
With the rising profile of gluten intolerance and celiac, it is becoming possible, even easy in some areas, to buy gluten free beer.
Gluten free beer is made with alternative grains and pseudograins such as rice, buckwheat and sorghum. It is still a specialty product so while more available than ever, it still may take some searching to track down.
Some beer is more “pure” than others. Some brands add preservatives and other additives, which you may react to.
In this case, it is a matter of finding which brands agree with you.
If you are allergic to both beer and wine, the most likely reason is yeast. Otherwise, watch out for the other causes listed above.

(Visited 29,710 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: